Preventing charges for an Azure VM when not in use

When you shutdown an Azure VM, you still get charged for usage.  That’s because the hardware for your VM is still allocated/dedicated to you.  It’s just not being used.  To prevent charges, you can delete the VM.  When you do that, your .vhd file(s) don’t’ get deleted.  Therefore, you can recreate the VM rather quickly when you want to start using it again.  While you can do this manually, it can become tedious depending on how often you need to do it.  The good news is that you can automate this process using PowerShell.  You’ll need to make sure you’ve run through Getting Started with Windows Azure PowerShell first.  Then you can follow the instructions from Importing and Exporting Virtual Machine Settings.  I keep this post handy since I create and delete my VM as needed so I am only charged for the time I am actually using it.

@devkeydet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s